I have been looking around the internet for a Domain Name for my company (which mostly does free charity work), I typed the domain I wanted into one of those Domain Search Engines on Friday, and then purchased it through IPowerWeb. It takes about 3 days for Ipower to purchase the domain, and in that time period, someone with the email “domainsales@gmail.com”, purchased the domain name and is now trying to sell it to me for a ridiculous price. I was wondering the legality on this, especially since they got it through me searching a domain purchasing site.
Next: How To Edit/delete Posts On An Archived Blogger?
Previous: Web Hosting & Email – Smtp?
"Is It Legal For A Company To Buy A Domain That I Was Going To Purchase?" was posted on Monday, June 29th, 2009 at 1:06 am.
Perfectly legal. Your intermediatary should not have taken so long to have secured the site in this fast-paced world. Imagine that you wanted the last hot product from the store shelf, but it took you three days to reach for it; you’d probably miss out. However, the fact that another ‘phantom’ company mysteriously snatched up the exact same address as you while iPowerWeb was ’securing’ the purchase of your site seems incredibly convienient, that’s just my take.
Since the email comes from a gmail account, it sounds like a phishing scheme to me.
It is best to register domain names using an ICANN accredited registrar. You can find a list of accredited registrars at http://www.internic.net/regist.html .
Without knowing all the details (the sites you searched , the fine print), its hard to say. It is definitely a SLEAZY practice. BTW,How do you know, for sure, that they only got the domain because you searched for it?